A new President for the jury of the Fashion and Photography Festival at Hyères: Julien Dossena.


This year the Festival of Fashion and Photography at Hyères will be presided over by Julien Dossena, the Artistic Director at Paco Rabanne.

The fashion house, now coming back to the forefront on the fashion scene with the recent opening of a boutique in rue Cambon in Paris, is the guest of honour at the 31st International Festival of Fashion and Photography. But it is not the only reason for his appointment. After four years working closely with Nicolas Guesquière at the Studio Balenciaga, Julien Dossena won the Special Jury Prize and the 1.2.3 Prize at the Festival of Fashion at Hyères in 2006.

From winner to President of the Jury, he replaces Virginie Viard, Director of Studio Chanel. The double C fashion house, however, remains a major partner for the festival this year, alongside LVMH, Première Vision, Chloé, Mercedes and the Fédération Française de Couture, du Prêt-à-porter, des Couturiers et des Créateurs Modes [the executive body for each of the specific organisations], to name just a few.

From 21 to 25 April 2016, Julien Dossena will be presiding over a jury made up of  Marc Ascoli, Creative Director in Paris, Coco Capitan, Photographer in London, Charlotte Chesnais, Fashion Designer in Paris, Romain Gavras, Film Producer in Paris, Pierre Hardy, Fashion Designer in Paris, Andreas Hoyer, Founder of the boutique Heimat in  Cologne, Tomoko Ogura, Fashion Director of Barneys in New York, Nicole Phelps, Director of Vogue Runway in New York, Surkin, a French house/Electro house DJ and producer in Paris, and Louis Venegas, Editor, Artistic Director and Publisher in Barcelona.

This prestigious jury has already chosen 10 candidates for the final competition: Laura Boned (women's collection, France), Claura Daguin (womenswear, France), Rolf Ekroth (men's collection, Finland), Hanne Jurmu&Anton Cartiainen (menswear, Finland), Shohei Kinoshita (womenswear, Japan), Clémentine Küng (menswear, Switzerland), Akino Kurosawa (womenswear, Japan), Yuhei Mukai (womenswear, Japan), Amanda Svart (womenswear, Sweden) and Wataru Tominaga (menswear, Japan).

For the photography part of the competition the Festival Jury and Candidates for the prize will be announced this Monday.